· All evidence passages · Download structured CSV
Documentary Whaling Returns
Ten carefully selected records extracted from existing WhaleLIBRARY books. Each row distinguishes district totals, shore-station returns, vessel reports and estimates. These are attributed secondary transcriptions within our library, not independent examination of every original manuscript.
| Date | Place | Vessel or station / linked book | Boats | Oil | Bone / baleen |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1839 | Kāpiti–Mana district | Six whaling establishments | 23 boats | 466 tuns black oil | 30 tons whalebone |
| 1840 | Long Point, Kāpiti | Fraser station | 5 boats | 44 tuns oil | 57 cwt bone |
| 1841 | Long Point, Kāpiti | Fraser station | 6 boats | 172 tuns oil | 8 tons bone |
| 1842 | Long Point, Kāpiti | Fraser station | Not stated in this return | 7 tuns oil | 7 cwt bone |
| 1844 | Kāpiti–Mana district | Shore whaling stations | 7 boats | Not specified | Not specified |
| 1847 | Kāpiti–Mana district | Shore whaling stations | 3 boats | 29 tuns oil | Not specified |
| 1842 | Kāpiti and southern ports | Wallaby; Charles Bayley | Not specified | About 50 tuns right-whale oil | Baleen, quantity not specified |
| 1842-05-12 | Kāpiti | Wallaby; Charles Bayley | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified |
| 1837 Aug–Oct | Off Kāpiti | Eleven ships (unnamed in this extract) | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified |
| 1840 May | Motungarara and adjacent islands | Lewis / Evans / Mayhew island stations | 6 boats Evans; 4 Lewis; 14–15 expected on Kāpiti | Not specified | Not specified |
Evidence and qualifications
- 1839: Six whaling establishments — District-wide total, not one vessel; excludes tonguers’ oil. Read source book
- 1840: Fraser station — Station return, not a vessel catch. Read source book
- 1841: Fraser station — Station return, not a vessel catch. Read source book
- 1842: Fraser station — Station return, not a vessel catch. Read source book
- 1844: Shore whaling stations — Two stations reported; not a vessel list. Read source book
- 1847: Shore whaling stations — Two stations reported; not a vessel list. Read source book
- 1842: Wallaby; Charles Bayley — Twelve right whales reported over five months in New Zealand; do not attribute all to Kāpiti. Read source book
- 1842-05-12: Wallaby; Charles Bayley — Three reported desertions; individual spellings require original scan. Read source book
- 1837 Aug–Oct: Eleven ships (unnamed in this extract) — The eleven individual ship names must be transcribed from original register. Read source book
- 1840 May: Lewis / Evans / Mayhew island stations — Observer estimate, not an audited census. Read source book
Never add together unlike measures or treat station returns as ship catches. Names of masters and crew are not inferred where sources do not name them. The full 416-passage register remains available for further transcription.